The award, in memory of Professor Surain S. Sidhu, goes to an outstanding scientist who is within six (6) years of having earned the Ph.D. or its equivalent. The award honors significant contributions to the science of crystallography and/or diffraction. The prize is bestowed bi- or tri-ennial during the Pittsburgh Diffraction Conference, and carries a cash prize of $5000. Nominations can be forwarded by any Society member to any current member of the PDS Board of Directors at any time, for consideration by all Board members. The successful candidate must attend the Pittsburgh Diffraction Conference (19-21 October 2017) to present the Sidhu Award Lecture and receive the prize. 


Nomination Process


Nominees, or interested third parties, should submit a letter that describes the candidate’s educational background, in particular the institution(s) from which they received their Ph.D., the name(s) of their thesis advisor(s), the title of their thesis, and the date upon which the Ph.D. degree was bestowed. Briefly summarize the scientific contribution that qualifies the candidate for consideration. Include reprints of pertinent publications and two (2) letters of recommendation from scientists who are familiar with the research of the candidate.  Please also include the candidate’s CV. The entire application package should be electronically submitted as a pdf file to the award committee.


Send the electronic package to Ashfia Huq (, to Bi-Cheng Wang at, or to any current member of the PDS Board of Directors at any time, for consideration by all Board members, by the application deadline of 4th of August 2017.


Professor Sidhu


Professor Surain S. Sidhu was a founding member of the Pittsburgh Diffraction Conference. In 1942 he was Professor of Physics and Director of the X-ray Laboratory at the University of Pittsburgh. Later, he moved to Argonne National Laboratory, where he pioneered the use of the null matrix in neutron diffraction. This involves choosing isotopes of an element in the proportion that gives a zero net coherent scattering factor. The procedure has been widely used for studying biological materials in which the isotopic ratio of H to D is appropriately adjusted.


Winners of the Sidhu Award


(1967)     A. I. Bienenstock

(1968)     R. M. Nicklow

(1969)     T. O. Baldwin

(1970)     S.-H. Kim

(1971)     L. K. Walford

(1972)     D. E. Sayers

(1974)     B. C. Larson & N. S. Seeman

(1975)     P. Argos

(1978)     K. Hodgson & G. DeTitta

(1980)     G. Petsko

(1985)     D. C. Rees

(1986)     D. Agard & J. M. Newsam

(1988)     Q. Shen

(1989)     M. Luo

(1990)     L. Brammer

(1992)     R. C. Stevens

(1993)     M. Pressprich & T. Yeates

(1994)     A. Vrielink & J. Wang

(1995)     M. Georgiadis

(1996)     M. J. Regan

(1999)     C. Ban & M. Wahl

(2000)     W. R. Wikoff

(2001)     L. Shapiro

(2002)     Y. Lee

(2003)     E. O. Saphire

(2004)     Y. Xiong

(2005)     C.-Y. Ruan

(2006)     P. Chupas

(2008)     M. Hanson

(2010)     H. Wu

(2013)     T. D. Grant